Following the establishment of the German-Austrian Postal Union of 1850, Austria introduced stamps in denominations of 1, 2, 3, 6 and 9 kreuzers for use throughout the Habsburg dominions.

They were engraved by H. Tautenhayn and typographed at the State Printing Works, Vienna, where most Austrian stamps since that date have been printed.

See also Austrian post offices in the Ottoman_Empire